Vanarama National League
shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : £0.00
View Cart Check Out

Jay Saunders and Frank de Boer

Maidstone United 1-3 Crystal Palace

A record crowd of 4,101 was at the Gallagher for this afternoon’s fifth anniversary game.

Frank de Boer was in the dugout for the first time since becoming Crystal Palace manager last month.

The visitors opened the scoring after a quarter of an hour – Jordon Mutch capitalising on a defensive error to put Palace in front.

Just after the half hour mark Maidstone were back on level terms. The Stones were awarded a free kick from 25 yards out and Joe Pigott fired the ball into the top corner.

It took just five minutes for de Boer’s side to get their noses back in front and it was Mutch who latched on to a Tyler Brown cross to give Palace a half time lead.

The Stones had chances in the second 45, Stuart Lewis going closest with an effort that was pushed over the bar.

As the game entered the final 20 minutes, Jacob Berkeley increased Palace’s lead and with a Tyler Campbell effort ruled out for offside late on, that’s how the game finished.

The Stones embark on three away friendlies in the next ten days. After Tuesday’s match at Ashford, it’s off to France next Saturday to play Arras. The following Tuesday sees the annual visit to Sevenoaks Town, where Jay Saunders’ side will play the first match on Greatness Park’s new 3G pitch.

Maidstone United: Joe Pigott 33

Crystal Palace: Jordon Mutch 15, 38, Jacob Berkeley 70


1. Lee Worgan ©
4. Reece Prestedge
5. Kevin Lokko
6. Magnus Okuonghae
8. Stuart Lewis
9. Delano Sam-Yorke
10. Jack Paxman
11. Tom Wraight
13. Joe Anderson
16. Seth Nana Twumasi
32. Joe Pigott

2. Josh Hare
21. Harry Phipps
23. Jack Richards
SUB: Harley Willard
SUB: Tyler Campbell
SUB: Callum Thomas
SUB: Elliot Capel
SUB: Lewis Chambers
SUB: Josh Dorling
SUB: Darren Cooper
SUB: Christian Campanella
SUB: Omar Lawson


1. Kleton Perntreou
2. Sam Woods
5. Nick Tavares
6. Kris Owens
7. Levi Lumeka
3. Tyler Brown
8. Kian Flanagan
4. Gio McGregor
11. Jordan Much
10. Jason Lokilo
9. Andre Coker

12. Dion Curtis Henry
13. Jacob Berkeley
14. Victor Fundi
15. Joseph Hungbo
16. James Daly
17. Tariq Ossai
18. Jordan Norman-Williams

Referee: Con Hatzidakis
Assistant Referees: Nick Dunn and Paul Yates
Fourth Official: Steve Brown

Leave a Reply