Vanarama National League
shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : £0.00
View Cart Check Out

Folkestone Invicta friendly

Folkestone Invicta 0-5 Maidstone United

Maidstone United have enjoyed an excellent start to their pre-season campaign as they thrashed Folkestone Invicta 5-0.

The Kent Senior Cup final between the two sides back in April was obviously a much tighter affair as that game was settled by penalties but within five minutes of this match, the Stones had gained the upper hand. Joe Quigley, who had only signed for Maidstone on Monday afternoon, found himself with only Tim Roberts to beat and he finished neatly.

Two minutes before the break, Blair Turgott exchanged a one-two with Jamar Loza. Turgott then entered the box and drove the ball past Roberts.

Jay Saunders made nine changes at the break with only Lee Worgan and Seth Nana Twumasi staying on the pitch.

Despite this though, the Stones pulled further ahead on 48 minutes. Jack Richards got on the end of a pass from Michee Efete and managed to knock the ball past Roberts who had come out of his area. The ball came to Jack Paxman who was just outside the box on the right hand side and he thumped an instinctive first time finish into the unguarded net.

Trialist David Ajiboye then got in on the goal action as he fired the ball in from the edge of the area before Stuart Lewis rounded off the scoring for the Stones. Lewis picked his way into space inside the box before rolling the ball into the net.

Maidstone United first half line up: 1. Lee Worgan, 16. Seth Nana Twumasi, 3. George McLennan, 5. Will De Havilland, 6. Alex Finney, 4. Jordan Wynter, 22. Michael Phillips, 11. Blair Turgott, 7. Andre Coker, 9. Joe Quigley. 14. Jamar Loza.

Maidstone United second half line up: 1. Lee Worgan (Ethan Collen 85), 19. Elliot Capel, 20. Dan Carrington, 12. Michee Efete, 16. Seth Nana Twumasi, 8. Stuart Lewis, 21. Ollie Muldoon, 10. Jack Paxman, 24. David Ajiboye, 17. Jamie Philpott, 23. Jack Richards.

Folkestone Invicta: 1. Tim Roberts, 2. Jerald Aboagye, 3. Nat Blanks, 4. Josh Vincent (17. Phil Starkey 65), 5. Callum Davies (14. Matt Newman 45), 6. Jack Evans, 7. Sam Hasler (Michael Everitt 35), 8. Ronnie Dolan, 9. Ian Draycott, 10. Jerson Dos Santos (12. Ade Yusuff 45 (16. Tom Walmsley 76), 11. Alfie Paxman. Subs not used: 15. Michael Everitt.

PSF: Folkestone Invicta 0-5 Maidstone United

Leave a Reply